March 17, 2008

First up to the chopping block

Posted in blogging, cartoon, drawing, outsourcing tagged , , , , , , , , , at 5:11 pm by czygyny

choppingblock.jpg

Yes, I know, it is a bit melodramatic, but, I just received the official word today, I am being laid off!

First up to the chopping block.

What a pivotal time in my life.

For half of my life I have worked for this company, learning, growing, building up my skills and talents. I have purchased my own car, my own house, taken care of myself, taken care of others with the money I made here, and was comfortable in the security of it all.

Then I watched as things morphed, mutated, into something very unpleasant and rather dark. Harsh personalities show up, carpet baggers, hatchet men, people with a career agenda and no empathy or care other than catching the brass ring of the next promotion. Folks with different ethics and a different concept of ‘good’ and ‘bad’. People who give lip service, but hearts far away from the public they serve.

While I am not at liberty to go into details, my last day will be Friday, March 28.

I have to admit, my heart is light and I am in anticipation of the future. The worries may creep in later, but right now, I am happy.

It’s truly been a long time since I could truthfully say that.

And, I finally get to spend a spring at home. Now…that is something special.

Praise He who has authored us all, Faithful and True.

This bird is getting ready to fly…

eagle.jpg

4 Comments »

  1. Michelle the ex-reporter said,

    I am sorry to hear it’s official.

    I honestly think you will be better off in the long run! I can only imagine how hard it must be to give so many years to one company only to have said company slap you in the face.

    But this is a new start! Don’t be afraid of takeoff! 🙂

  2. czygyny said,

    Thanks for the encouragement, Michelle!

    (Let the reader understand that my woes and trials have been so much more than just this job situation, but after a long burden of troubles I do believe I see the light of dawn.)

    This Paul Simon song popped into my head this morning, I think I can finally grab ahold in its message for once…

    “Once in a while from out of nowhere
    When you dont expect it, and youre unprepared
    Somebody will come and lift you higher
    And your burdens will be shared
    Yes I do believe, if I hadn’t met You
    I might still be sinking fast
    Ive had a long streak of bad luck
    But I’m praying its gone at last

    Gone, gone, gone at last
    Gone at last, gone at last
    I had a long streak of that bad luck
    But I’m prayin’ its gone at last
    Gone, gone, gone gone gone gone
    Gone, gone, gone, gone, gone, gone, gone
    I had a long streak of that bad luck
    But I’m prayin’ its gone at last”

  3. donigreenberg said,

    You are a brilliant and talented woman. Take those wings and fly. Oh the places you’ll go.

    xodoni

  4. NO ONE said,

    love the drawing of the chopping block. just what i needed to finish my project, thnxs.


Leave a Reply

