March 26, 2008

The sweetest of springs begins

Posted in garden tagged , , , , , , , , , , at 6:51 pm by czygyny

white-dwarf-iris.jpg

As the sweetest of springs unfolds, I thought it might be nice to share some of my favorite Miniature Dwarf Bearded Iris.

dwarf-narcissus-and-dwarf-reticulated-purple-white-iris.jpg

This image has a single purple/white iris and dwarf narcissus.

purple-dwarf-iris.jpg

Miniature Dwarfs are generally no more than 8″, and perfect for rockgardens. These purple ones have already crowded out their rocky niche.

The last ones are my pale blue MDBI, it is a repeat bloomer. All of my stakes and tags have mysteriously disappeared, so I will have to do some sleuthing to find all their names, again.

My rockgardens tend to get a bit cluttered over time, since I am always bringing home more rocks, sticks and rusty things. Bits of broken crockery, glass and also tacky plastic lizards, dinosaurs, giant ants, etc. that are only seen in the dead of winter when your eyes are desperate to see anything bright and colorful.

This little Olympus digital camera isn’t too bad, but I can’t wait to get my digital camera.

blue-dwarf-iris.jpg

2 Comments »

  1. leafless said,

    Coincidentally, irises are taking over my little garden. I plan to post pictures of them on my blog.

    Are you a member of the American Iris Society? I got a pamphlet sometime ago but have not applied for membership. Wonder if it’s worth it or not.

  2. czygyny said,

    I have never been much of one to join clubs, personally. I tried to get involved with a local gardening chapter, but the meetings bored me to tears. I would rather be out pulling weeds. Actually that is not a joke, I would rather be out pulling weeds than just about anything!
    Are your irises the tall beardeds? All of mine seem to grow like crazy, yet some of my MDBI just lag and sulk. My spurias, Pacific and Siberian iris do well, too
    I can’t wait to see pix of your iris!


Leave a Reply

